Writer/Editor Team Concept (There’s no “I” in team)

An Interview with Dennis DeRose of MoneySaver Editing
Dennis is an editor associated with 10 Day Book Club.
Q: Hello. Please tell us something about yourself, where you’re based, and how you came to be a EDITOR.

A: My family and I live in Middletown New York., I’m a counselor in a New York state prison and I’m looking to retire this year. I became an editor just by being the type of person I am. I began by reviewing books for a wonderful lady in Kentucky. She liked my reviews was so much that she asked me to edit every review submitted on her website; I agreed. While reading a book for review, I have a habit of recording events and errors that I find. I asked her to submit the errors I found to the writer. I did the same thing to his next book; he was so impressed that he asked me to edit his next manuscript. And I did and so it began and has continued for over two years, nonstop.

Q: What genre do you generally EDIT and have you considered other genres?

A: I prefer to EDIT fiction because that’s what I like to read. I have edited a few nonfiction to date, but it’s not my preference.

Q: What have you had published to-date? Do you write under a pseudonym?

A: I am not a writer but I have written one poem about a college friend and that will be published this year. I have also edited one book of poetry.

Q: Have you had any rejections? If so, how do you deal with them?

A: I have had two writers back out of editing agreements; things happen. Dealing with it, that’s life. I know I did my best.

Q: Have you won or been shortlisted in any competitions?

A: I haven’t won any competitions but so far three writers that I have EDITED for have won golden awards for excellent writing in the fiction category.

Q: Do you have an agent? Do you think they’re vital to an author’s success?

A: An agent may be vital to a writer’s success unless he or she is willing to do all the work themselves and they have some connections where it counts. I make it a habit to email all my writers and writing friends important information that I feel might help them promote their books. I think it’s important; after all, one hand does wash the other.

Q: Are your EDITS available as eBooks? Were you involved in that process at all? Do you read eBooks or is it paper all the way?

A: I encourage all my writers to publish an e-book first because I know how popular they are becoming. Presently, I prefer to read paper over e-book. That may change in the future.

Q: How much of the marketing do you do for your published works or indeed for yourself as a ‘brand’?

A: I do try to help writers market their books wherever possible. Why not? We should help each other.I feel that we,myself and the writer, are part of a TEAM.

Q: Do you have a favorite of your books or characters? If any of your books were made into films, who would you have as the leading actor/s?

A: I have EDITED over 20 books but I really can’t say that I have a favorite one. I think all of my writers have done a super job and I hope that I have helped them, in some small way, to make their books better than they were before.

Q: Did you have any say in the title / covers of your book(s)? How important do you think they are?

A: When given the opportunity, I am more than happy to express my opinion over one cover or another. I appreciate that my writers value my opinion.

Q: What are you working on at the moment / next?

A: Right now I am EDITING a fiction for a local writer,a thesis for a good friend and an anthology for another friend. She graciously included my poem in her anthology. I have writers lined up waiting for me to finish these.

Q: Do you manage to EDIT every day? Do you ever suffer from EDITOR`S block?

A: I try to edit one or two hours every day. Sometimes things get in the way.

Q: Do you have a method for creating your characters, their names and what do you think makes them believable?               A: when I EDIT a book, I try very hard to think like the reader. So that when I edit I will often offer suggestions to the writer to make their characters more real and bring more life to them.

Q: Do you EDIT any non-fiction, poetry or short stories?

A: To date, I have edited two nonfiction, one book of poetry and a few short stories.

Q: Do you do a lot of editing or do you find that as time goes on your writing is more fully-formed?

A: I EDIT all the time.

Q: Do you have to do much research?

A: I research when necessary, if I feel that something is out of place or incorrect. I try to be as accurate as possible.

Q: What’s your favorite / least favorite aspect of your EDITING life? Has anything surprised you?                                       A: My least favorite is when I know a writer could have done a better job but, for some reason, just hasn’t done so and I have to try to pick up the pieces. That becomes difficult and costly to the writer.

Q: What advice would you give aspiring writers?

A: Take your time; do not rush sending your manuscript to an editor. It’s your book so make it the best you can before you submit it for editing.

Q: If you could invite three people from any era to dinner, who would you choose and what would you cook (or hide the takeaway containers)?

A: Jesus, Capt. Kangaroo, and Red Skelton. I would just like to thank them for the joy that they brought to my life. While I’m at it, I’d like to invite my relatives that have passed on so that I could hug them one last time. I miss them all very much. Dinner? That`s not important to me.

Q: Is there a word, phrase or quote you like?

A: Do the right thing. I like to think that I made that up.

Q: Are you involved in anything else writing-related other than actual writing or marketing of your writing?

A: I do blog in Authorsden about things that are important to me.

Q: What do you do when you’re not writing? Any hobbies or party tricks? 🙂

A: We like to go camping; I like to read and I go hunting and fishing when I have time.We travel a few times a year. I can even take my editing with me if I prefer; thank God for laptops.

Q: Are there any writing-related websites and/or books that you find useful? (please include links where you can)

A: “Poets and Writers” magazine

Q: Are you on any forums or networking sites? If so, how valuable do you find them?

A: Authorsden, it’s FREE to join. I`m also able to do reviews about my writers` books there. That`s where I do my blogging also. You can also sell your books there as long as you autograph them for buyers.

Q: What do you think the future holds for an EDITOR?

A: I would like to think that there will always be editors as long as there are writers who want to write well and will accept nothing less.

Q: Where can we find out about you and your work?

A: I’m in Linkdin under Moneysaver Editing and Dennis De Rose.

Also look in Readersfavorite.com. Readersfavorite will review books for FREE. My primary website is located in Authorsden under…

http://www.authorsden.com/visit/author.asp?id=150139

*****

10 Day Book Club introduces guest bloggers. We encourage people to share their love of writing. Send your submission to guestblog@10daybookclub.com and include your contact information within the content. All submissions must be written by the author. This is our way of helping writers share their message.

*****

10 Day Book Club creates an opportunity for writers to market self-published books within a virtual book club format. The same process is resourced for developing manuscripts in a public of private virtual book club format. Social networking and training on how to market through the popular mediums are also an option. See more at http://10daybookclub.com 

Disclaimer: All writing shared in our guest blog is the opinion and message of the author. 10 Day Book Club confirms authors’ permissions prior to publishing here.

About 3day Editing Groups

A writer submits three chapters, up to 35 pages, of a manuscript into a group with editors for three days at no cost. The editors assess the writer's work and give their feedback in an interactive online format. There is a ten day option available where a writer participates with one editor in an interactive online format.
This entry was posted in authors, book club, poetry, readers, Training, Uncategorized, writers, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

