Screw being the damsel in distress

By Nicole MacDonald

I have a confession to make. I love Disney movies. I love the pretty girls and the hunky guys and the dramatic rescues of the heroines. I love the way the girls can sing and attract a multitude of cuddly critters or everyone breaks into a coordinated dance. I love the pretty dresses, magic wands and perfect hair. But from a young age, when I used to day dream about these Disney style drama’s, something different always occurred in those fantasies. I rescued the hero. Yep. That’s right. A petite, freckled, shortsighted and somewhat klutzy girl rescued the hero. Not the other way around.

I got a lot of enjoyment from those daydreams but it didn’t really occur to me, until almost three years ago, to do something about them. Then one day while watching a storm roll in over the Wellington Harbor, a scene occurred to me. In the midst of a thunderstorm four girls fought for their lives against a monstrous foe. Just as they thought they had the upper hand, five enormous griffons dropped from the sky, surrounding them. And that began my current obsession!

Until then I’d been an avid reader but always skirted away from writing, mainly because it scared me—where did you stop? You could write forever. It was much easier to simply enjoy the ride than create it. Now however, I am the proud author of the first two books in the BirthRight Trilogy and am currently working my ass off on the third book. The four leads in these books were originally inspired by me and my friends and I honestly thought I’d never share them with anyone. Then I got the guts up to self-publish and 27,000 e-copies of The Arrival were snatched up in the first year.

Writing has led me down a path I never believed I would ever be brave enough to take and now that the floodgates have opened, who knows when it’ll stop! But that no longer scares me. The creating of another world, of characters that haunt my dreams and now the dreams of my readers, is such an intensive and intoxicating process that I don’t believe I’ll ever stop.

If you’d like to get a taste of the world and characters I’ve created then you can try out my first book, The Arrival, for free on Amazon/Smashwords/Barnes & Noble/iTunes/ My own blog site = http://www.damselinadirtydress.com

Amazon = http://www.amazon.com/The-Arrival-BirthRight-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B004HD5WAE/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1329088679&sr=1-3

iTunes = http://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/the-arrival/id431517784?mt=11

Barnes & Noble = http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/arrival-nicole-macdonald/1100093005?ean=2940011169434&itm=1&usri=the+arrival

Smashwords (any format) = http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/34874

*****

10 Day Book Club introduces guest bloggers. We encourage people to share their love of writing. Send your submission to guestblog@10daybookclub.com and include your contact information within the content. All submissions must be written by the author. This is our way of helping writers share their message.

*****

10 Day Book Club creates an opportunity for writers to market self-published books within a virtual book club format. The same process is resourced for developing manuscripts in a public of private virtual book club format. Social networking and training on how to market through the popular mediums are also an option. See more at http://10daybookclub.com 

 

Disclaimer:

All writing shared in our guest blog is the opinion and message of the author. 10 Day Book Club confirms authors’ permissions prior to publishing here.

About 3day Editing Groups

A writer submits three chapters, up to 35 pages, of a manuscript into a group with editors for three days at no cost. The editors assess the writer's work and give their feedback in an interactive online format. There is a ten day option available where a writer participates with one editor in an interactive online format.
This entry was posted in authors, book club, poetry, readers, Training, Uncategorized, writers, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Screw being the damsel in distress

  1. FindTripInfo says:

    I am still at the day dreaming stage but hope to graduate to actually writing down my ideas soon. My son is hounding me to start. I think you are brave and now my inspiration to get my behind on to a chair in front of my computer. Thank you for sharing your story. I will most definitely go and check out your books. Best wishes Celeste, soon an author.

Leave a Reply

