Hand surgery leads to writing for Lorraine Nelson. There’s always a gift!

 

High-Tech Holiday.red.smBy Lorraine Nelson

Writing – my passion, my dream. I started writing adult fiction as a hobby almost four years ago while on medical leave for hand surgery. With the aim of gaining more flexibility in my fingers, I began doing typing tests and such. Easily bored, an idea came to mind and I just sat at the computer and started writing. J When I finished that first manuscript seven weeks later, I was thrilled! Then came the process of editing, tweaking, and polishing until I felt it was ready to send.

Boy, was I wrong!!!

Needless to say, I’ve suffered through my share of rejections, but instead of giving up, they made me more determined to succeed. I’ve joined several writing groups and forums and have made many online friends, people who have been supportive and encouraging throughout this journey. By nature, writing is a lonely hobby, so it helps to have people with whom you can share and do a little brainstorming. Except when the characters start talking to me. LOL That’s when I can immerse myself in the tale and write for hours on end, crafting their story their way.

With feedback received, I discovered where my writing lacked substance, studied those areas, kept writing, revising and submitting. I’ve entered contests and pitches, even won a couple, but publication still evaded me…until July, 2011, when perseverance paid off.

It wasn’t a call that came, per se, but an email. Evernight Publishing wanted my book. So, by receiving an email notification I didn’t have to stutter excitedly through a phone call and embarrass myself, but without speaking directly to someone on the publishing end, it didn’t really feel real – until I opened another email that Sunday night and saw my cover for Zakia and the Cowboy. Squee! Fantastic!

I’d been waiting on the edits/revisions to come in and wasn’t expecting to see any cover art, especially at 11:30 pm on a Sunday night. My surprise was immediate and vocal. My son came running, alarmed, but smiled when he saw the cover. Everything had happened so fast!

On July 17th, 2011, I subbed my manuscript to Evernight, on the 18th I received the contract, signed and returned it on the 20th and on the 25th, received the cover. No matter how you look at it, this team is super efficient. Marketing and promotion commenced with the release of the covers and my debut novel, Zakia and the Cowboy, was released on October 5th. J It became a Featured Title at All Romance Ebooks and appeared on two of their bestseller lists…cowboy/western and mystery/suspense. Zakia and the Cowboy also won December’s Book of the Month at The To Be Read Pile review site in 2011. Quite an honor for a newbie. J

t737  477367  08005   0000012201030103006301800000

I now have 14 titles available in ebook form and Zakia is available in print as is Hawk’s Woman, my contribution to the Virgins Behaving Badly anthology with Evernight.

It’s been an exciting journey and the feedback I’ve received from readers and reviewers has been awesome. It’s been a pleasure to share my story with you. I hope this serves as inspiration to other writers to just keep learning, writing, and submitting; and, for my readers, provide a little “behind the scenes” info.

Bless you all – Lorraine Nelson

 

Lorraine’s “High Tech Holiday” Description:

Kris Temple is a web graphics designer, an ambitious entrepreneur striving to survive in a dog-eat-dog world. She also wants to win her family’s Christmas contest. She adorns herself in full holiday gear the night before thanksgiving and is flying home fully decorated. She’s thrilled to find herself seated next to a handsome man. But Kris has a speech problem. However would she converse with this man without stuttering and embarrassing herself?

Aaron Masters is not thrilled to be flying economy, but his personal jet is in for repairs. He’d had to scurry to the reservation desk at the last minute to book a seat on the only flight out, and now he finds his practical, no-nonsense demeanor assaulted by a woman dressed as a holiday advertisement…his seatmate. How could he hope to ignore this woman for the entire flight?

With their flight being rerouted, calls from her ex-fiancé/co-worker pleading for assistance, and his ex-girlfriend stalking him, they are certainly in for a memorable flight.

BBB.smLorraine’s “Bad Boy Blake” Description:

Blake Bennett is the town bad boy turned Sheriff, elected to keep the peace. When Blake first meets Gina, she’s butting heads with the Mayor…over the type of dancing she teaches—pole dancing.

 

Gina West is a professional dancer, who retired from the stage, and moves to Westonville, NB, to start her own dance studio. But Gina is not who she claims to be, and when strange things start happening…vengeful threats and vandalism…Blake begins digging for the truth. In his role as protector, he begins to fall for Gina, but will her lies and subterfuge destroy any chance for them to be together?

 

 

*****

Great Authors by 10 Day Book Club adores author Lorraine Nelson. She has HEART and it is in all the right places! Her romance novels consistently show up on our Facebook wall (http://facebook.com/10daybookclub). There’s no question…she is successful because she puts soul into her mission.

*****

The Great Authors program assists writers in preparing their manuscripts for reading. It doesn’t mean publishing must follow. A person may only want to share their writing with family and friends. We give writers the unbiased feedback first, which helps with confidence. Our editors are professional. Our cost for services is crazy LOW! Tell us about your manuscript by applying for free at http://10daybookclub.com – We’ll see if we’re a good match.

richard photo5

About 3day Editing Groups

A writer submits three chapters, up to 35 pages, of a manuscript into a group with editors for three days at no cost. The editors assess the writer's work and give their feedback in an interactive online format. There is a ten day option available where a writer participates with one editor in an interactive online format.
This entry was posted in authors, book club, Developing Writing, manuscripts, reading, romance, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

