Five Strategies To Help You Write Your Non-Fiction Book

By Tabitha Jayne
It’s said that everyone has a Book within them waiting to be written.  I’ve known this to be true about myself since the age of ten yet it’s taken over twenty years to publish my first book.  The following five tips that I share are the things that allowed me to bring my book Thriving Loss: Move beyond grief to a place of peace, passion and purpose into reality.
  1. Know what you want to write about

When I first set out to write the book I knew I wanted it to be about the loss of a loved one and how to transform grief as this is my area of expertise.  As I continued to work with my coaching clients I realised that the book had to be about the process I used with my clients and explain how people could tap into this process themselves.  The more I thought about it and researched other self-help books I realised I wanted inspirational stories of other people who were thriving after the loss of their loved one as well to add greater depth.  From starting with only a vague idea I finally managed to become really specific about that it was I wanted to have in the book.

  1. Have a clear outline

Before I even started writing I knew I was going to have eleven chapters and what was going to go into each chapter.  I also interviewed everyone I needed for the book and had their stories written up and associated with specific chapters.  I introduced the topic with current research in grief and loss.  Then I outlined the process I use with clients that really allows people to let go of grief and transform loss into a lasting legacy.  From there I went on to do a deep dive into each part of the process.  I looked at the biggest challenge that people faced when dealing with grief and how they could maintain grief transformation.  Then lastly I explored how to use nature to deepen peoples’ experiences before finishing and telling people what they needed to do after they put the book down.

  1. Visualise the finished book

As I worked on the outline I would also spend time visualising what the finished book was about.  I’d imagine myself holding the book in my hands looking at the cover and flicking through the pages.  I’d imagine reading those pages and how I would feel once I’d completed the book.  The more I did this, the more real the book became for me.  The book felt so real to me before I even started writing that it felt almost as if I was just copying it from somewhere else.

  1. Find a writing style that works for you

I read a lot of advice that said just sit and write and don’t worry about what you are writing.  Other advice said write whenever you had even a spare five minutes.  More advice told me to not worry about editing what I’d written until afterwards.  I tried all of this and it didn’t work for me.  What I discovered was that I needed to write and edit at the same time.  Because I was so clear on what I wanted to say in the book I would write a paragraph and then check to make sure it clearly represented what I wanted to say.  If I got stuck I would leave the computer and go for a walk in the garden and visualise the finished book returning again when I knew what I wanted to say.  This process allowed me to create a first draft that needed minimal editing.

  1. Create block time
The best piece of advice I ever got was to create specific time especially for writing.  I took myself away to the Spanish countryside with no internet and no phone.  In one week I wrote 6 chapters of the book.  The next five chapters took me a month as I returned to Scotland and had to fit writing in around pre-existing commitments.
Bio:
Tabitha Jayne is a leading expert in the field of grief & growth coaching and the author of Thriving Loss: Move beyond grief to a place of peace, passion and purpose.  She is also the creator of the Tree of Transformation©, a five step process that helps individuals fully let go of grief and transform loss into a lasting legacy that positively impacts both themselves and the world. Download the free audio of the Introduction and Chapter One to Thriving Loss at www.tabithajayne.com or buy the book at www.thrivingloss.com
*****

10 Day Book Club introduces guest bloggers. We encourage people to share their love of writing. Send your submission to guestblog@10daybookclub.com and include your contact information within the content. All submissions must be written by the author. This is our way of helping writers share their message.

*****

10 Day Book Club creates an opportunity for writers to market self-published books within a virtual book club format. The same process is resourced for developing manuscripts in a public of private virtual book club format. Social networking and training on how to market through the popular mediums are also an option. See more at http://10daybookclub.com 

*****

Disclaimer:

All writing shared in our guest blog is the opinion and message of the author. 10 Day Book Club confirms authors’ permissions prior to publishing here.

About 3day Editing Groups

A writer submits three chapters, up to 35 pages, of a manuscript into a group with editors for three days at no cost. The editors assess the writer's work and give their feedback in an interactive online format. There is a ten day option available where a writer participates with one editor in an interactive online format.
This entry was posted in authors, book club, readers, Uncategorized, writers, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Strategies To Help You Write Your Non-Fiction Book

  1. Thanks for blogging with us, Tabitha! Great info. sharing.

  2. docprov says:

    Get all the free help you can get. It is amazing how so many people are willing to help you for free. Dr. Michael Provitera, author of “Mastering Self-Motivation.”

  3. t says:

    Great advice! Now, if I can only muscle past #1 on your list…

  4. Great information. I have to get passed the fear of starting the book but your article has reminded me I need to be prepared. So I’ll start planning. I loved the block out some time bit of advice. That will be my secret.

  5. If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they have planned for you? Not much. Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

