Finding my niche includes “Searching for my Wand.”

Two years ago, I was living in a dark apartment and I was in a miserable place all around. I had no idea how I was going to change my situation, but the one thing that dark place couldn’t take away from me was my imagination. In the two years I was stuck there, I wrote three and a half novels, as well as a musical “Room to Grow” with my friend Laura Hall (best known for her work on “Whose Line Is It Anyway?”).

I have now self-published my first novel “Searching for My Wand” and couldn’t be more pleased. “Searching…” tells the story of Glenda, a woman struggling to come to terms with the direction her life has taken. She was named (incorrectly) after Glinda the Good Witch and has spent most of her life trying to live up to a fictional character. Needless to say, it hasn’t been easy. It’s a look into a life that has its share of ups and downs, told through journal entries that leave you wanting to know what is going to happen next. It is also highlighted by the sometimes comical drawings she doodles.

I chose self-publishing because not only did I not have the patience to wait a year or more for traditional publication, but also because I liked the idea of controlling everything from the cover to the content. It has been thrilling to see this all come together, but there is still one more piece to the puzzle, and that is the marketing.

I enjoyed putting together the book trailer. I was able to use some of the pictures from the book, add some copy, and underscore it with music Laura Hall wrote and graciously allowed me to use. Tweeting, Facebooking, and doing guest posts have generated a few sales, and the reviews have been overwhelmingly positive. Now I have been told that the success or failure of this book will depend on word of mouth. This is both good news and bad. Without a publicist, it is difficult to get the word out, and that is where I am at now. I am literally scratching my head, trying to come up with ways to spread the word.

Like Glenda in “Searching for My Wand”, I am not a quitter, and I am determined to see that this book, as well as my next book and every book, thereafter finds its audience. I know I can do this. I’m just not sure how. I’ll figure it out, though. In the meantime, check out the trailer and buy the Book! You won’t be sorry, I promise.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMi8eiatB8s&list=FLivtLXiho_nvceGnFkXlh2Q&feature=mh_lol

Bridget Straub
10 Day Book Club introduces guest bloggers. We encourage people to share their love of writing. Send your submission to guestblog@10daybookclub.com and include your contact information within the content of the Blog. Our way of helping you share your message. Along the same lines, we have three virtual book clubs beginning today (Feb 1), which will continue until February 21 See details here
About 3day Editing Groups

A writer submits three chapters, up to 35 pages, of a manuscript into a group with editors for three days at no cost. The editors assess the writer's work and give their feedback in an interactive online format. There is a ten day option available where a writer participates with one editor in an interactive online format.
This entry was posted in authors, book club, poetry, readers, Uncategorized, writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

